

CO-PRESIDENTS

Mani Shankar Aiyar MP, India Saber H Chowdhury MP, Bangladesh Tarja Cronberg MEP, Finland Paul Dewar MP, Canada Bill Kidd MP, Scotland Taro Kono MP, Japan Mi-Kyung Lee MP, Republic of Korea Senator Ed Markey, United States Baroness Sue Miller, United Kingdom Christine Muttonen MP, Austria Marit Nybakk MP, Norway Senator Richard Tuheiava. France

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Aytuğ Atıcı MP, Turkey Senator Byrganym Aitimova, Kazakshtan Ui-Hwa Chung MP, Republic of Korea Jeremy Corbyn MP, United Kingdom Senator Michelle Demessine, France Abdullah Ensour MP. Jordan Senator Alena Gajduskova, Czech Rep. Sul Hoon MP, Republic of Korea Paul Hutchison MP. New Zealand Birgitta Jónsdóttir MP. Iceland Marianne Malak Kamal MP, Egypt Roderich Kiesewetter MP, Germany Dov Khenin MP, Israel Tonis Koiv MP, Estonia Shoichi Kondo MP. Japan Dirk van der Maelen MP, Belgium Christa Markwalder MP. Switzerland Federica Mogherini MP, Italy Ghassan Moukheiber MP, Lebanon Holger Nielsen MP. Denmark Senator David Norris, Ireland State Senator Nan Orrock, Georgia, USA Alongkorn Ponlaboot MP, Thailand Viktor Rogalev MP, Kazakhstan François De Rugy MP, France Maryan Street MP, New Zealand Senator Mushahid Saved. Pakistan Jaroslav Walesa MEP, Poland

PNND HONORARY MEMBERS

Helen Clark, New Zealand Laura Chinchilla. Costa Rica

PNND SPECIAL REPRESENTATIVE

Senator Roméo Dallaire, Canada

ADVISER INTER-PARLIAMENTARY

ORGANISATIONS
Uta Zapf MP, Germany, PNND Past-President

PAST PRESIDENTS

Senator A. A. Maddison, Marshall Islands Raphael Chegeni, Tanzania Senator David Coltart, Zimbabwe Senator Rosario Green, Mexico Hideo Hiraoka MP, Japan Marian Hobbs, New Zealand Sergei Kolesnikov, Russia Alexa McDonough, Canada Senator Douglas Roche. Canada

PARLIAMENTARY PARTNER NETWORKS

Angelika Beer MP, Chair, Parliamentarians Network for Conflict Prevention Christer Winbäck MP, Board Member, Parliamentary Forum on Small Arms and Light Weapons

ALUMNI COUNCIL MEMBERS

Senator Lyn Allison, Australia Martin M. Contreras MP, Costa Rica Edine von Herold, Costa Rica Harry Jenkins, Australia Issam Makhoul, Israel Giorgio la Malfa, Italy Tolegen Mukhamejanov, Kazakhstan Rudolph Rechsteiner, Switzerland Anwar El Sadat, Egypt

EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

Tadatoshi Akiba, Middle Powers Initiative Jonathan Granoff, Global Security Institute Robert Grey, Bipartisan Security Group Andreas Nidecker, Basel Peace Office Alyn Ware, PNND Global Coordinator

Message to the 21st World Congress of IPPNW (International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War)

Astana, Kazakhstan, August 25-29, 2014

Dear IPPNW

Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND) sends greetings and best wishes to you on the occasion of your Assembly in Astana, Kazakhstan.

PNND pays tribute to IPPNW for your leadership in the global campaigns for the abolition of nuclear weapons.

You have highlighted the catastrophic health and environmental consequences of the production, testing and use of nuclear weapons, the inability of medical professionals to adequately respond to such consequences, and the responsibility of everyone to work for the peace and security of a nuclear-weapon-free world.

In addition, you have highlighted the immorality and illegality of nuclear weapons, and helped bring differing constituencies together to build the cooperation required to abolish nuclear weapons.

As such, your Nobel Peace Prize in 1987 was well deserved, and you continue to do justice to the award through effective actions for nuclear abolition.

PNND affirms the value and opportunity of IPPNW holding its 2014 World Congress in Astana, especially in light of the tragic experience of nuclear testing in Kazakhstan and the leadership taken by Kazakhstan to reject nuclear weapons nationally, forge a regional nuclear-weapon-free zone and advance a number of global initiatives including the International Day Against Nuclear Tests which was endorsed unanimously by the United Nations General Assembly.

PNND was honoured to be invited by the Nazarbayev Centre and the Kazakhstan Foreign Ministry to hold our annual assembly in Astana in August 2012, an event which was opened by President Nazarbayev and included the launch of the ATOM Project and the participation of parliamentarians from the nuclear-armed States and over 80 other countries.

We extend our commendation to President Nazarbayev and the government of Kazakhstan for continuing to host important international nuclear abolition events in Astana such as the IPPNW World Congress.

Head Office

C/o Basel Peace Office Sociology Seminary Petersgraben 27 CH-4051 Basel, Switzerland +41 788 912 156 info@pnnd.org

United Nations Office

866 UN Plaza Suite 4050 New York, NY 10017 United States of America Tel: +1 646 752 8702 info@pnnd.org

East Asian Office

Hiromichi Umebayashi Peace Depot, 1-30-27-4-1F Hiyoshi-honcho Kohoku-Ky Yokohama, 223-0062, Japan Tel: +81 45-563-5101 cxj15621@niffy.ne.jp

Coordinator Arab Countries Mona Makhamreh

Mona Makhamreh P.O. Box 37, Amman Jordan 19152 Tel.: +962 79580-3022 muna@pnnd.org

Central European Coordinator

Jana Jedlickova U Dobrenskych 5, Prague, Czech Republic +420 775856879 jana@pnnd.org PNND also thanks IPPNW sincerely for the very positive partnership between us over the years. We look forward to strengthening this partnership and our cooperation in the various campaigns to achieve a nuclear-weapon-free world.

In this context we thank IPPNW for accepting the invitations to participate in PNND Assemblies, and we would welcome the possibility to participate in World Congresses of IPPNW.

Once again we wish you success for your World Congress in Astana.

Yours sincerely

PNND Co-Presidents:

Mani Shankar Aiyar MP, India

Chair of the Rajiv Gandhi Action Plan for a Nuclear-Weapon-Free World

Bill Kidd MP, Scotland

Co-Convener, Cross-Party Group in the Scottish Parliament on Nuclear Disarmament

0/ b/ 7%

Mi-Kyung Lee MP, Republic of Korea Secretary-General of the Democratic Party

cuçan miller

Baroness Sue Miller, United Kingdom *Member of the UK Delegation to the IPU*

Tarja Cronberg, Finland

Former President of the European Parliament

Contact Group with Iran

Christine Muttonen MP, Austria Spokesperson for the Social Democratic Parliamentary Group for Foreign and EU Policy Saber Chowdhury

Saber H Chowdhury MP, Bangladesh Former President, Inter Parliamentary Union Standing Committee on Peace and International Security

Taro Kono MP, Japan

可野大部

Former Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee

Senator Ed Markey, United States

Member of the Senate Foreign Affairs Committee

Marit Nybakk MP, Norway

Vice-President of the Norwegian Parliament

Paul Dewar MP, Canada

Opposition Critic for Foreign Affairs

Senator Richard Tuheiava, France

Member for French Polynesia Member of the Defence Committee of the French Senate

Continued next page

PNND Past Presidents:

Dr Raphael Chegeni, Tanzania

Chair of the Great Lakes Parliamentary Forum for Peace

Dr Sergey Kolesnikov, Russia

Former Co-President of IPPNW

PNND Special Representatives:



Angelika Beer (Germany)

Inaugural Chair of the Parliamentarians Network for Conflict Prevention

LGen the Honourable Roméo Dallaire (Ret'd), Senate of Canada

Former Commander of the UN Forces in Rwanda

PNND Council Members:

Senator Nan Grogan Orrock, Georgia, USA

President of US Women Legislators' Lobby

Victor Rogalev MP, Kazakhstan

Marianne Malak Kamal MP, Egypt

Member of the IPU Forum of Young Parliamentarians

Dirk van der Maelen MP (Belgium)

President of the Commission on Foreign Affairs of the House of Representatives

Mr Jaroslaw Walesa MEP

Member of Global Zero

PNND Alumni Council Members:

Dr. Edine von Herold (Costa Rica)